Photo Organization- New Year’s Resolutions

As 2014 is winding down some of you might be starting to think of things you would like to improve on for the coming year. Weight loss, time management and organization usually top the list. One thing I have gotten ahead of in the last few years is photo organization. As we all live in a digital world we can snap a photo at a moments notice and therefore have a lot more photos to organize and many more we are not printing. Here is what I have found very helpful to keep my photos up-to-date and on display without spending a month’s time pouring over boxes of photos.

1. Don’t print your photos.

This might sound a little backwards but I know many people who have continued to print photos when they have no idea what or when they are going to do something with them. Every 6 months go through your picture frames in your house that need updating. If you need to update 6 frames then print 6 photos, this will save you time and money. Printing photos is also more of a commitment in terms of labeling and storage. If you prefer to print photos you need to be diligent from the beginning in organizing as it can get out of hand quickly!

2. Digital photo books

My personal secret to getting use out of my photos is printing one photo book a year and putting all of events on a few pages each. This summarizes our year nicely in one neat book and I am able to add notes and details about the event next to the pictures. I print the books in a 12×12 size which are great to leave on my coffee table so they can be looked throughout the year. I use Shutterfly as my editor of choice, it is very user-friendly and economical to print. A bound book of around 40 pages is usually a $100 a book. They also run specials often so I will complete a book and then wait to print it until they run a special, they are offering 40% off right now! http://www.shutterfly.com. I used to scrapbook by printing my photos and using paper and stickers, using a digital process is a lot faster, cheaper and easier. I am already done with my book for 2014 and I was able to complete it in a couple of afternoons on the couch with a good movie and my laptop. (sorry to my brother who is still waiting on me to finish his High School scrapbook I started 10 years ago…I will finish it someday!)

Screen Shot 2014-12-28 at 4.14.46 PM

Screen Shot 2014-12-28 at 4.31.03 PM

FullSizeRender

3. Take your photos off of your camera and phone often

Making this a habit will make you life easier. Make sure to label them in folders right away with the event title and date. If you want to print photos later or put them into a digital photo book this will make the task easier.

4. Edit, back up and delete

When you download your photos to your computer make sure to go through and edit and delete any you do not want. As we all get a little shutter happy from time to time we do not need 50 pictures of blurry 4th of July fireworks. Make sure to back up your photos either through cloud storage or an external hard drive. Printing photos is also a good way to make sure you don’t lose them but this takes more dedication in organization and labeling.

I love taking pictures and capturing memories of all of our travels, friends and family. Making use out of these photos is a great way to relive the moments over the years.

“What i like about photographs is that they capture a moment that’s gone forever, impossible to reproduce.”
― Karl Lagerfeld

Leave a Reply

